The Hudson River Valley Institute

Home » Uncategorized » Meet the Intern: Meghan Jones

Meet the Intern: Meghan Jones

meghan_jones

Meghan during her semester in Australia

My name is Meghan Jones, and I am a senior at Marist College.  This is my first semester with the Hudson River Valley Institute, and I am writing a regional history forum on Sunnyside, the home of Washington Irving.  I look forward to exploring the literary history of the Hudson Valley and the way literature inspired Irving’s vision of Sunnyside.

I hail from Longmeadow, Massachusetts, and I graduated from Longmeadow High School in 2013.  At Marist, I am majoring in English with a concentration in Writing and minoring in Creative Writing and Cinema Studies.  I am a member of the Honors Program, the Deans’ Circle, and Sigma Tau Delta, the English Honor Society.  I write and copy edit for The Circle, the on-campus newspaper, and participate in Dance Ensemble.  I am also an active member of the Marist College Singers; in fact, I served as Publicity Chairperson on the Executive Board my junior year before giving up the position to study abroad.  I spent fall of 2016 at Deakin University in Melbourne, Australia, where I studied editing, young adult literature, and Australian film.  During my semester abroad, I almost stepped on a snake, ate a spicy Fijian pepper thinking it was a pea pod, and made an exorbitant amount of Finding Nemo references, among other things.

Since December 2016, I have been a member of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators.  After graduating from Marist, I hope to pursue a career in children’s or young adult publishing.  For my senior thesis project with the Marist Honors Program, I produced a draft of an original picture book, called The Runaway Pumpkin, which I hope to publish one day (ideally in the near future!).  I also love writing about books, music, TV, etc.  I’m a big superhero fan, and I write weekly reactions to DC’s Legends of Tomorrow on my blog, Avengers of Tomorrow?  While blogging, doing schoolwork, or doing pretty much anything, I’m most likely listening (and singing along) to Bastille, Adele, or the criminally unknown indie quartet Darlingside.

Leave a Reply

Hours & Info

845-575-3052
Mon.-Fri: 9am - 5pm
